flashingreds...
cookie
(2003-09-30, 5:31 p.m.)
This morning I had a phone call from a fellow in France.

He spoke as if reading a script, as if he�d written a speech, translated it into English, and then read it in a slow, steady voice. Once the speech was over, our communications broke down decisively.

5 years of French gave me little background to have a discussion of contractual terms in French, so I stuck resolutely to my English explanation, which confused him utterly.

And so, I thought of our old friend e-mail. I told him I needed to consult a contract and would e-mail him with the results. He politely spelled out his e-mail address letter by letter, saying ��O� as in �orange,� �M� as in �Martin,�� and such. When he got to �C,� it was ��C� as in�� and just as I was about to helpfully provide �Cat,� he came through with �Chicago.�