flashingreds...
in these shoes?
(2003-09-29, 5:25 p.m.)
Reb and I agreed�we�re not done with the idea of living in Chicago. When I say I am (admittedly fairly often), I�m just trying to salvage some small shred of pride.

I think she was all wrapped up in the big Cubs win, in the good will and comradeship she found at the mother ship, since she couldn�t bear to listen to the game by herself. Where else would she go? For a superfan, it�d be heaven.

It hit me yesterday afternoon, as I bundled up and walked down to the mother ship, where I knew I�d find my people, where I knew I�d find a reliably tasty lunch and honest folks just out to watch the baseball and football games. It reminded me so much of lazy fall afternoons in Chicago, the gray sky and blustery wind, going for food and staying on and on until it was time to bundle up again and grab a coffee and paper on the way back home. Save that I was alone and content. And here, not there. Content.

Huh.

Fall has strange effects more interesting than allergies and harvest and frost warnings. I�m having trouble with all the darkness, the shorter days full of rain and gloom. I want to lie in bed and read all day, listening to good music and napping intermittently. Everyone is. Unless we�re out on the town, and when we�re out, it seems more serious and purposeful than ever.

It involves things like house parties with fog machines and strobe lights and High Life. Light. Stockpiling veggies from the farmer�s market for making soup, but going back to the bar for pickles and vinegar fries.

Tonight I�m having M & J and another high school pal over for dinner. (Delivery.) One of those �you should come over for dinner sometime� comments upon which I wasn�t wholly prepared to follow up. Bears game. Tomorrow weight lifting resumes, and again on Thursday. Cleaning. Friday is an early show withCatherine Irwin and Sea and Cake, then rushing over for Split Lip Rayfield and, if I feel like staying, Bastard Sons of Johnny Cash. Then another late night party. Saturday our pal ewenorker arrives at my residence with Sparky, and we�ll entertain ourselves, eat well and drink better. It�s all good. Busy. Maybe it�s best thought of in smaller pieces, though, right now.

I should balance the checkbook. Get a second job. Mind the pedestrians.