flashingreds...
surely is a dream
(2003-10-07, 3:57 p.m.)
Thankfully it�s just the Cubs playing tonight. I was a bit of an emotional wreck after that stressful (yet magnificent!) Bears game Sunday afternoon, and then the Cubs won, and I was crying, and it feels so foolish to sit in an empty house crying over a game I don�t really fully grasp and a team I haven�t really been watching for most of my life, unlike most people round these parts. But man alive, it was a time.

I just read about that flag football game at Soldier Field this Saturday, with Jim McMahon and other circa 1985 Bears players vs. Dan Marino and gang. The Trib leads me to believe William Perry will be playing, and dear lord, did anyone else see him when they interviewed him at halftime during one of the games last year? The ol� toothless Fridge on his fishin� boat in S. Carolina? I suspect they�d have to float him around to the Gulf and up the Mississippi just to get to IL. Flatbed trailer to Chicago, maybe. I�d be afraid to watch the game, just for fear he�d have a heart attack right there. Scary, scary man. But hey, he seems happy.

I�m glad Kerry Wood�s not pitching tonight. If I had to listen to those Fox announcers discuss how he had so much �baby fat� back in 1998-99 one more time, something ugly was bound to happen. I don�t understand why it�s called baby fat if one is an athlete, or really just a male, but you rarely hear anyone accusing 30-year-old women of having baby fat. Unless they�ve just had a baby. And as Reb said, don�t any of the other players have wives? Why must we look at Kerry�s wife every two minutes? She�s pretty and all, but let�s get back to the guy dozing over in left field. Baseball on TV needs more shots of the bizarre crowd and less of, well, Sarah Wood.

Yeah. Guess I�d better ride the trainer tonight and work on that baby fat.

I still have no idea how I fell into watching team sports. But hey, it�s not the next Joe Millionaire, and for that we can be truly grateful.

Tomorrow I�ll return to worrying about how I can afford both Allison Moorer and Death Cab for Cutie this weekend. Or really either of them. And whether I can stand to stay home on Friday night, when there�s a whole world full of nasty old biker dudes with a fixation on Celtic women and groups of hairy guys just looking for a little insight into a woman�s view of excessive body hair.

I have so much to live for. I have no idea why Kate thinks I ought to give dating a chance.

(Here�s a bit more about the new edition of the dictionary. Who says we can�t get our dream jobs?)