flashingreds...
a little song, a little dance
(2004-01-27, 4:59 p.m.)
Friday night a cool coworker made an appearance for my party. Given she spent her childhood in Manhattan and her present activities tend more toward hobnobbing with deans and department heads, I was honored to see her. Even better? After a few drinks, she pulled me aside to demand information about my lipstick, informing me that my lips always look fantastic, and she�s been jealous forever. And so we snuck to my bedroom and applied the oh-so-hip Cover Girl Outlast lipstick. She wanted to be sure she got that divot on the top lip, just like mine.

This is why we need alcohol, my friends. How else would these things happen? Lincoln may be the Great Emancipator, but booze is the great equalizer.

I trudged through snowdrifts to go to the salon today (no more matronly hair), only to spend most of the appointment commiserating with my stylist about how much harder hangovers are now than they were even a year ago. And of course we�re not ready to give up our martinis or beer. She was telling me of some new herbal product she�s seen advertised that prevents hangovers, swearing that drinking water doesn�t help, but confident that a magic pill might exist. I told her to feel free to give it a try and report back to me.

In truth, I believe I usually deserve the hangover. I like to think of it as penance for whatever foolish things I�ve said and done, but I have to say, I paid a hefty price for Friday�s festivities, given I spent the latter half of the night in a funk.

Webster and Cyprus, it seems, are paying a rather higher price�that of endless ridicule. She just rang to report they were pulled over by two police cars not even a block away from my house. They were on their bicycles. Their house is 4 blocks away. As she was describing it, I desperately wished I�d been watching from my kitchen window. We suspect it may not be legal to ride a bicycle while intoxicated. We don�t advocate it. We simply find it hilarious that two helmet-wearing kids with bike lights couldn�t make it four blocks at 3 am without a major event. In the end, they were sent on their merry way, but they�ve formed an outreach service, hoping to prevent similar mishaps for their friends. Really it�s just given us a reason to laugh, as we rest our aching backs and fret about scraping the car and shoveling the walk one more time.