flashingreds...
red eye girl
(2004-01-26, 5:20 p.m.)
I have one of those muddy red clouds floating around on my left eyeball, giving me that oh-so-charming look of a career drunk.

Sigh.

Thing is, we�re not in college anymore. We don�t have house parties; we have cocktail parties, which implies decorum, a level of behavior separating us from the kids drinking out of plastic cups and pissing in the yard. It�s still fun, but quality fun.

There shouldn�t be any drunken 30-something-year-old lawyers crashing the party, towing along unsuspecting TV sportscasters, rampaging like drunken elephants, wrecking stuff in my home, and physically accosting invited guests.

Yep. I learned many things. I had lots of fun. And lots of unfun.

I cleaned and slept and cooked and worried about my dad, out on the road in a bus, as the winter storm headed our way.

Then I wondered why Diane Keaton always wears white. And gloves. And why Renee Z. wore a homecoming dress. Why Sofia C. wore black flats, like she was singing with the children�s church choir. And why that weird little manchild from the Lord of the Rings frightens me so.

OH! But don't we love Meryl Streep for saying that same sex partners wanting to pledge their lives to each other and doping in sports were hardly the two most important issues in America! Rock on. It's just too bad the MoveOn.org ad won't be running during the Super Bowl. Somebody please help end the nightmare of this administration.