flashingreds...
night the lights went out
(2003-07-08, 5:43 p.m.)
The power went out at 10 pm last night. I was watching �As Time Goes By,� headed to the kitchen to refill the water glass, flipped the kitchen light off, and the lights all dimmed for a second, then all was black.

It was all a flashback to the first summer I lived there, when Meg�s grandparents had an air conditioner downstairs, when we blew fuses each time I tried to run a fan and my microwave at the same time. Or later, when there was a short in the wiring to the outside light from my kitchen switch. I suspected the latter, and in spite of turning things off and replacing fuses, we blew through 4 more before we all ended up sleeping at the neighbors� house. It was actually rather novel�I had air conditioning and a bed, not fans and a sofa.

So until the electrician arrives on Thursday, I have no lights in the kitchen. Power everywhere else, though. No more showers in the dark and drying my hair in Meg�s kitchen.

Have I mentioned how delighted I am to be moving to town? Granted it�s another sprawling old house, but I suspect the wiring�s been updated and that they�re not running wiring for the whole thing through four fuses. The boys would�ve told me, and you can be sure I�ll ask to view the breaker box when I�m given the keys.

And I won�t be so likely to find wee kittens abandoned in the cornfield. I�m unhappy to report the passing of Road Rash and of wee Zippy. Road Rash was great Sunday night, but she died before I made it home with meds after work yesterday. And V broke the news about Zippy when I rolled out of bed this morning. That�s the one that hit me hardest. I feel like such a dope, but I was sure he�d finally realized he had to live, because I refused to let him die. I tried to tell him all of the delightful things he had to live for, as I pried his mouth open, made him take the bottle, cleaned his eyes and nose, bathed him and massaged his belly. But he did it anyway. I think I�m officially turning kitten duties over to V. It�s so wrenching.

And though my landlord may not be able to solve our wiring problems, he�s a good man. He buried the babies.

Oh, how I go on.