flashingreds...
drowned, but not forgotten
(2003-07-11, 4:00 p.m.)

The day�s a bit off. Shin splints and kitty paws pinched in the screen door. Stops for garage sales, resisting temptation to buy things I don�t need, just to move them in a month.

But Coach has leant me an old Steve Forbert disc. Life is good. His Web site alleges he�ll be in town in late July, but it�s not been posted here. Of course I�ve e-mailed the fellow who does booking to find this out. Sweet lord, that would be nice summer treat.

Nonetheless, we have our beloved Robbie Fulks tomorrow night. For certain. Coach�s crazy Chicago folks are in town this weekend. We hit their garage sale this morning. 9:30 am, and they were deep into the beer. Good people. We should all be in fine form for Robbie�s show. I�ve picked up a 6-pack to haul in for the morning garage sale at Tams� place.

Sometimes summer rocks.

And I�m digging notes from the road that my pops is sending. I can�t say as I�ve ever seen his writing. It�s a strange window into the man.

July 10,2003

Greetings from the Mile High City. Got into this town this morning around 10:00 and found my room, then, I called Jim and Elaine. They picked me up this afternoon and we went to eat lunch near their house. After lunch, we went back to their place and just visited. It was a very good time.

Guess I can say that I have been to Las Vegas and have no desire to go back. It was way too hot and too many rude people. As you know, I thought that Phoenix was a HOT place too.

Thanks for the pictures of my boy. They were real nice. Glad to hear that he is doing all of those things. Can he say Grandpa yet?

He will be half grown by the time I see him again, which I hope is the middle of August.

We will be here in Denver until Saturday night. We have a competition in Greeley, Co tomorrow night and one in Denver on Saturday night. Then, we will be off to Albuquerque and all points in Texas.

Better close for now, I'll try to send more later. Tell all I said hi.

He wrote again today:

Gee, I feel bad that I won't be home to help you move. But at least I will be able to stop and see the place on my way home. Hope you like living in town. You must remember to lock your doors when you get there. Hope that Fuzzy will like the new place.

We have competition in Greeley tonight. I did laundry and got my hair cut this morning so I am clean again. Didn't know I could wear clothes so many days without washing, all I do is put on extra cologne. HA!

I got the post card that you requested. I didn't get it mailed from there, so I thought I'd bring it home and let you send it. Also, I didn't know what you wanted to say.

Best go, time to eat lunch and get ready for the show. Stay in A/C the next couple of weeks or so, and think of me. Also, have a drink or two for me.

And I will. In fact, it was a happy lunch. Soon, happy hour. Cheers, Pops.