flashingreds...
uh huh
(2003-01-17, 4:55 p.m.)
The drive home last night was far less traumatic than the drive in, and this morning all was well. Give me those snow-packed rural roads any day, where there�s no traffic and where I know every tiny dip or jog that gets slick.

I guess I�m getting used to the little silver wonder. There really wasn�t any opportunity last winter to get to know what she does on snow, since she�s smaller and lighter than that dreadful old green lemon.

But alas, no trip south for the weekend. I�m missing out on a chance to see at 17-year-old 26 pound diabetic cat, and I tell you that rankles. Can you even imagine? I hope it�s not too cold for him to go out for his social engagement.

In the end, a quiet weekend has the potential to allow me to finish the recent writing projects, if I can either turn up a computer or relearn to compose without it. I had so many ideas last night, but I�m now growing suspicious that that Lazy Boy in front of the deceased computer emits some sort of creativity-inducing vibes.

----

I would like for us to all stop saying �smoking gun.� Much like my previous requests to bar things like �evil-doers,� �the American people,� �George Bush,� and �work,� I expect this request will be met with apathy and inaction.

----

And this, this! The ladies� bowling team is coming together. Miss P., Webster and I (evidently I�m Lulu, for bowling purposes) will go scope out our preferred bowling alley next Wednesday evening. We�re presently brainstorming for team names.

Now lest you think this is going to be like the ISU girls bowling team, Kate, I assure you we�re in it for the beer and the laughs. And the team bowling shirts, which we speculate will be black and gold. Black just in case we end up bowling on cosmic bowling night�it will set off the animal hair and other lint so nicely.

----

I�m nearly afraid to articulate this feeling, but here it goes. Salon has really pleased me this week. What an amazing article about George Ryan, our former governor, for their lead story yesterday. It�s amazing to Illinoisans to hear mention of a Nobel Peace Prize nomination, when all that comes to mind for us when we hear his name is corruption, graft, and crime. It�s amazing to me, too, that so many in the state disapprove of the blanket clemency, and I have to wonder if it�s just a gut reaction to the name, this disapproval.

I�m pleased that Sparky�s using this strange turn of events as a prompt for his writing class. Yeah.

----

What else? What else? It�s time to start a new painting. I sent the most recent creation off to the corner of the world. You know, RI. It arrived. Kate reports that it�ll be perfect for her bathroom, and I don�t think she intends to flush it, no, but thanks for jumping to that conclusion. Any other orders?

In light of that special pet painting, you pet people might consider your pet�s insouciance factor.

Bugger. All this nonsense, and it�s still not happy hour time.

Lest you accuse me of being chipper, I�ll leave you with a warning. Watch your back.