flashingreds...
a warm and fuzzy house
(2002-09-23, 11:52 a.m.)
Oh, friends, I have an announcement. Since I�m clearly doing such a brilliant job here at flashingreds, I think I�m ready to write my book. I didn�t believe the stats at first, but when the story blamed the results on blogs and websites, it all became clear.

Who says we�re lacking self-confidence?

Oh, it�s a sleepy day. The weekend was great�everything from happy hour to my first grown-up party. I�m completely worn out and feeling mildly ill, needing air and lots of Kleenex brand facial tissue. (This portion of flashingreds brought to you by the makers of Kleenex. Or not. But Kleenex rocks.)

At the party, we had:

1. Fresca, all sorts of beer, pi�a coladas and dirty vodka martinis

2. fresh mozzarella, tomato and pesto sandwiches

3. Italian beef

4. drag queen hummus (technically beet hummus�write for more details)

5. loads of fresh sourdough bread (sorry if anyone tried to buy any Saturday afternoon)

6. fruit kabobs with margarita dip

7. spinach artichoke dip

8. spinach, artichoke and cheese dip

9. fortune cookies

10. olives

The casualties:

1. My favorite salt and pepper shakers, which were previously in mint condition. Now the little girly kitten has an extra hole in her head. I probably did this to her myself, since they�re merely decorative fixtures in the kitchen, but it�s still a disappointment.

What I learned:

1. If you wait 3 years before having a housewarming party, people will still bring gifts. Lovely gifts, including music, martini-themed kitchenware, special order vodka and religious candles.

2. If you wait until you can afford to have a big party, you�ll probably have more expensive home furnishings, and something will be broken.

3. If your friends are also of a mature age, they responsibly throw things in the proper receptacles, making clean up a dream.

4. Everything�s easier if you have a handy guest staying with you.

I think I�ll make it through the day, but only because I heard the most lovely song on WEFT, the source of which I�ve now discovered, thanks to the wonders of the internet. �The Woman Downstairs� by The Handsome Family, from the album called Through the Trees. Gothic and gorgeous. Funny that ewenorker and I had a conversation this weekend about the fact that we�d never heard anything by the band, but that we really wanted to and expected we�d like them.

Monday, it�s all right.