flashingreds...
hurricane me
(2002-09-25, 11:33 a.m.)
Note to Robbie Fulks: Another factor contributing to the general reprehensibility of Mahomet is that the town is dry. I think that fact might be implied in the phrase �good schools,� much as the aforementioned lack of socio-economical or racial diversity.

I should�ve remembered that part of my point, and had I been prepared to discuss the attributes of central IL towns, it would�ve been on the agenda. Again, frustration at not having made my point perfectly clear.

I am mildly intelligent and occasionally proficient in expressing mature, thoughtful ideas, in addition to being a high-powered publishing professional.

So really I�m finding inspiration difficult this morning. The vending machine is out of god-awful frosted brown sugar Pop-Tarts (this is where I would link to the story about flaming Pop-Tarts and idiots who don�t know how to use toasters, had mimi smartypants not already done it�as if there�s anything left to do), so breakfast was a few nasty honey-flavored pretzel sticks that seemed inedible yesterday. What do you do after that?

You read the news. Salon Premium featured an interesting article about the Miss America contest, which we�re supposed to care about, since she�s a local girl. We wouldn�t have been friends, I�m sure, but good for the smart girl for winning, and good for the pageant for finally putting value on the things a woman says, as well as the other stuff. Granted I�d be a blathering, raving idiot if any stranger grilled me on current events or my take on any political topic. Blathering idiot is often my middle name.

Ah, well, the week marches on. Last night we completed two of the huge flower arrangements that will decorate the church for J. Lee�s wedding on Saturday. (And why does she get to live far away, leaving these dubious tasks to me?) I think the key was drinking wine whilst preparing them. That and inhaling lots of the sealant we�ve been applying to prevent the dried flowers from falling apart or aggravating allergies. Like, say, mine. I don�t think I dripped anywhere, but just think of anything questionable as hot glue. We did use it�nasty burn/blister on my index finger to prove it. I should not be allowed to use hot glue guns unsupervised.

I�m not doing my nails for the wedding. I am not a fingernail-doing sort of girl (toes always), and after the hot glue gun run-in and various encounters with knives and chopper blades in preparation for the party last weekend, I�m a mess. I�ll be in good company amongst the landscape architect and the, uh, well, circus performer. Then again, I should make an attempt to clean up for the interview tomorrow, which will require a quick (!) jaunt up to suburbia before more wedding mayhem ensues.

I have not mouthed silent insults at coworkers as they walk away from me today. I�m a terribly liar.

Did I mention how much I love the new Neko Case album? Did you take me seriously? It�s so lovely it melts me a bit. Lovely and amazing, if you will.

If you�ve got the money, I�ve got the time.