flashingreds...
wouldn't you like to get away?
(2002-09-10, 10:58 a.m.)
I just don�t want to talk about terrorism, about the anniversary tomorrow, about war in general or about the political policies of our government. It�s not that I�m not thinking about all these things, but a respite from all of this is good. And I won�t settle for seeming trite.

Oh, Tony Blair, I worry for you. He was the voice of reason, horror and actual intelligent information when we needed it.

Also on the BBC news website, there�s a sidebar about it all, and a link to a message board where you can chat with students in NJ who saw it all happen. I was mortified, but it seems like it�s just a bunch of kids on there. No more of my moral high ground.

I�m not sure I�ll do much more posting this week, and I don�t want it to be construed as some symbolic act of deference, though maybe not obsessing online for a few days might be the best I can offer. I think I just need to think less and stay busy in other ways. So if it happens, you won�t be surprised, and I won�t seem a slacker. That�s the outcome I desire.

But I do want e-mail.

And I'd like to take this opportunity to lament one fewer publisher in Chicago.

So now I�ll take the opportunity to pass on an item of interest: a new magazine discovery. I only have the issue with Beth Orton on the cover, but I�m delighted and intrigued.

Also a little cold.

But glad I�m not this lady. I respect her.

Ta.