flashingreds...
what work?
(2002-09-06, 12:26 p.m.)
Finally! Funny stuff about the book world. It�s about time. Thanks for the tip, Jane-o.

Clearly the day is off to a super-productive start. I was dramatically late for work for no apparent reason, spent a good 13 minutes cleaning the dust from my toes and shoes, heard ugly details about a couple I don�t know and their marital problems, ate zucchini bread and yogurt, drank hot cocoa, and answered e-mails. And now I have several websites to investigate, thanks to caring friends.

I want my new issue of Bust. Yeah, I know, if I�d subscribe, it�d be here now. It�s the sex issue. With Beck on the cover. Sigh. But you see, I can�t subscribe to anything--what if I move tomorrow? That�d be just one more address change to send. So yeah, that�s why all the subscriptions are running out. The excuse is wearing thin.

Which reminds me, I still find it incredibly rude to make a girl drive 120 miles to interview�twice�and to then not call her (or return her polite e-mail inquiry) to let her know she wasn�t the grand prize winner.

I want to win a grand prize. Last week my mom won a new TV at some strange small town event around here. Granted it�s a 19 inch, which looks ridiculous in the spot formerly occupied by the dying 27 inch. But she won something. And you know, my little sister won her car last summer. It may be old and lack air conditioning, but it was free.

This weekend? Grrrlfest. I may or may not be helping out, since I failed to sign up to help out, thinking chances were pretty damned good I would either be out of town or packing for a move. But today finds me here for the weekend, so there�s the invitation-only opening reception after work, maybe some bands tonight and tomorrow night, and hopefully some workshops tomorrow. I�m terribly thrilled about the bike maintenance/repair stuff, since the old Schwinn�s making some horrid sounds when I�m big-ringing it.

And Reb�s right, summer really is over. When I head out on the bike in the mornings, I�m back to the school route, because the wind is consistently out of the north/northeast. And I�m wearing long sleeves, because it�s cold. And while I like it, I�m also disappointed in all of the fun things I just missed this year, the things I couldn�t really muster interest in until now. No trips to Kickapoo to mountain bike. No fancy new mountain bike. No road trips for concerts.

Am I 80 today? Lamenting the loss of the summers of my youth? Get over yourself.

I�m going to go read the Alt Log.

Cheers.