flashingreds...
who's noodging who?
(2002-09-04, 10:33 a.m.)
I look like I�m going to a clambake today. Granted I�ve never been to a clambake and don�t know what people really do wear to them, but I�m certain I�m dressed perfectly for the occasion.

This morning we�re looking again at the micrographs of cocktails on the site I found last week. This is particularly amazing. I expect to look hard and find some parrots and maybe a girl in a grass skirt. Totally wild. R said �the Shirley Temple looks like the end of the world.� Right on, man.

In other news, I had an odd dream this morning. I was living in Holland with my parents, teaching marching band to children in preparation for the Labor Day parade. One of my charges (dressed in a wedding cake costume, by the way) fell and skinned her knee, which became this huge drama of her being in the hospital and me trying to arrange for online chats with her family. In the end we recorded some audio of her talking, which they were able to hear to know she was okay. Eventually, her father, who was Robbie Fulks, flew in to get her. But before picking her up, he helped my dad take the transmission out of his car and fix it. In the end, Robbie was planning to come back next week, when he and Dad would work on Robbie�s car�s brakes.

None of it means much to me. Ignore the wedding cake bit, figure I�m nervous about my sister�s pregnancy and potential child, nervous about being left in charge of it, etc. But mainly I think it means I�m irritated that I won�t get to see the Robbie show Sept. 28, since I�ll be in a (surprise!) wedding that day. But I�ve fixed that. See, he�s playing in Charleston next weekend, and my little sister�s been on me to visit them, so I�ll take care of both needs at once. A brilliant idea, I think.

But I�d love to see this. And I�m definitely ordering the baby romper and the CD for my older sister. Bloodshot�s the best.

The song in my head today? My own rendition of �You�re a Hum Dinger� by BR549 called �You�re a Clam Digger.� Be glad you can�t hear it. Be very, very glad.

I enjoy working with poets. I learned a new word today: Noodging. Now there�s a word to google.

I must get to work on that passport issue. Whether we go to London or not, I think I should have one. You know, just in case. Because if I had one, then I could start leading the sort of life where you need things like that, just in case.

I should also have a Vespa, just in case.