flashingreds...
the verge of conversion
(2002-09-03, 11:42 a.m.)
Look, I didn�t say I wanted to get married right now. Let�s get that clear. The point was merely that I hate being conspicuously single at events that are made for couples. And the whole getting my hopes up thing. That�s all. Well, I should�ve known better than to drink red wine.

But more to the point, let�s talk about that religion thing.

On the ride home from the rehearsal, C. and I rode with one of the bride�s aunts, as we were sleepy. They discussed their new priest, blah, blah, blah, and then somehow moved on to the topic of exorcisms and the paranormal, relating tales of things they�ve seen or felt in the past.

Now this always creeps me out. I�m the kid who could no longer watch X-Files when I graduated, since I lived alone. Granted it�s in a very old and sometimes scary house with no locks on exterior doors. But I digress. I don�t know much about Catholicism, so the very fact of belief in ghosts and spirits and the like caught me off guard. I don�t recall any such mention from my years as a Methodist, aside from my confirmation class instructor saying that anything �bad� that happens is the work of the devil, so you could make the scary things stop by commanding the devil to stop in the name of Jesus. Or something like that. I�ll have you know it was one of my first disappointments in the church that that never worked. But they were so comforted by their religion. In spite of being dubious, I'd sure like to be comforted by some sort of unchanging facts. Probably a byproduct of my indecisiveness.

So I was fascinated. But then we get to Saturday and the homily during the wedding. From the moment the priest started his sermon, I was ready to convert. Why? Well, you see, he was a bit of a weather nerd, which delighted me, and my emotions nearly carried me on up to the front to be saved, though maybe that would�ve been a faux pas.

The bride and groom are moving to Plainfield after they return from Hawaii. Plainfield. And the priest knew the significance of that, so the theme of his homily was �Weathering the Storms of Life.� Ah, yeah. Weather as a metaphor for life. I bought it, completely and without doubt. That is, I bought it until the end, the part where all religious leaders feel the need to instruct the couples about their roles in the marriage, and the priest urged the bride to be a good wife and mother and to work hard at making a home.

What did I expect? Quit making a deal over it. You know there must be progeny to nurture and raise in the ways of the church.

In other news, my boss just pronounced �ESPN� as if it were a word, rather than saying the names of the letters. Huh.

Today we�re dreaming of a trip to London in November. We must book by next week. It�s a damned good deal. I�m checking out how to get a passport and the like. Where do I go for the photo?

You�d really like holiday gifts from London, wouldn�t you? Who cares that I haven�t a clue where I�ll be living in November. At the rate things are going, I�ll still be skulking about around here and will need a vacation.

London, here I come!