flashingreds...
i'd like to buy a nap
(2002-08-29, 12:09 p.m.)
First things first: anyone�s ability to smoke whilst playing the guitar, piano, or frankly any other instrument whatsoever does not impress me. (Drinking I don�t mind.) I feel as though it�s disrespectful to the audience, sending the message that this little performance is just a casual practice, not a show. Well, that�s a small part of it. Mainly I find it distracting, because I�m always worried they�ll damage their instruments. Guitars and such.

Dolls, I am sore today. The suddenly arthritic knees are cranky and the hip flexors are sore as all get out, but oh, the concert was worth the pain. What a delightful time. I�d only seen Edward and Jay play together as an acoustic duo, which was actually quite depressing. They played mellow, stripped-down versions of their songs and of some Woody Guthrie songs. Everything was dirge-like, I drank too much, and it was a sad and sorry affair. I think Jay was sick. And when the show ended at 10 and the DJ music came on, Jay threw an ugly bit of a fit. We all know what conflict does to me.

But last night was perfect. Some ballads and plenty of rocking. I have to say I really like Jay best when he�s playing the guitar. I no longer try to watch and learn (um, when was the last time you played your guitar, ms. flashing reds?), but just enjoy. Jay�s crazy guitar antics are precisely what I missed in those Wilco shows I saw last fall, when he�d just left the band. Leroy is lovely, but he�s almost always on the keyboards. More often than Jay was, it seems. And when Jeff mostly plays the acoustic, the guitar sound is far different than what it�s been for them in the past. Or on albums.

I must say it was an odd, odd crowd. Eventually the longtime bartenders and band people from around town showed up, but there was an odd batch of miscellany dancing spasmodically in front of the stage. This wasn�t the music for that. I did enjoy the fellow dancing like a chicken. Hee hee. It must also be noted that I consumed much less beer than I usually do at a show. It was a school night, kids. A delicious midweek adventure.

I am eagerly anticipating the adventure Steve Earle is promising, too.

I�ll say it again: I�m so relieved to find that I can finally enjoy going to live shows again. It�s an important part of my life, and I won�t give it up for anything.

Not even for a cherry pie.