flashingreds...
in which vigilance is rewarded
(2002-08-30, 3:44 p.m.)
I�m not going to NY in December, which is depressing. No shows, no martinis at Martini�s, none of it. Sigh. There�s clearly no reason to stick around. Evidently my coworkers feel I�m very cosmopolitan, so it wouldn�t be taken personally if I departed.

Cosmopolitan. That�s a joke. See, I met a friend at a newish wine bar last night�a very stark, clean, smoke-free place, for the record. Though we both enjoy wine, we probably don�t know a boxed wine from the best in the house, you see. So we agree to have the red on special, and I deny him the right to be the man in the situation, and I order the wine. I�m an outspoken gal sometimes, and I did feel as though I�d committed a faux pas. But greater than that, I realized that since I ordered it, I�d be expected to behave like a knowledgeable wine drinker. I�d have to sniff the cork and all. So I was very nervous when the server reappeared with the bottle.

Sure enough, the corkscrew was brandished, the cork expertly removed, and placed casually in front of me. I ignored it. I decided that was more honest. And when he poured a bit into the glass, I remembered to swirl, sniff and sip. I think that�s right, right?

It�s not as if I haven�t had good wine and bad wine. I like good wine an awful lot, but I also find I can and will drink bad wine, to much the same eventual effect. I�d like to know how to select a good wine, so my hostess gifts aren�t laughable, but until I�m an actual high-powered publishing professional with loads of money (hey, quit laughing!), I�ll take whatever I can get.

Wine does have a tendency to make me maudlin, another very good reason I don�t know much about wine and often leave it alone. In spite of it all, I had a pleasant night.

Aside from the letdowns of realizing none of the phone messages at home and on the cell phone would offer any sort of conclusion to the aforementioned interviews.

Have I told you lately how cool I am?

(NEW for next week�-less drama, more fun! Maybe tales of a drunken flashing reds and scenes she created at a wedding reception? Stay tuned.)

Oh, and I'll leave you with a poem created at a website mimi smartypants recommended the other day. I like it very, very much.

from http://cmdrtaco.net/poemgen.cgi?url=machete.pitas.com

flashing reds? , but just a casual practice, not

even for that. s disrespectful to me.

But there was actually

quite depressing. They played your guitar,

sound is lovely, but he's crazy

guitar antics are sore

as all get out, but last fall, when he'

s almost always worried they'll

say it was actually

quite

depressing. They played your guitar,

ms.