flashingreds...
when the roses bloom again
(2002-08-15, 7:27 p.m.)
Lesson for today: do not eat the tuna if you can't remember when you put it in the fridge. No, tuna always smells like that--you can't judge by the smell. But it probably shouldn't be shiny.

I am having tremendous technology issues. Two nights in a row I've tried mercilessly to burn a cd of suitably unknown music for a friend whose sister has been challenged to construct a cd full of music her friend can't identify. YES! I can help! In theory.

I'm still dreaming of a new Mac. Maybe one of those eMacs, though does one need a DVD player or not? Would I be happy with a cheaper iMac G3, considering what I'd do with it?

Today I choose to ignore finacial concerns. Standing up and walking are taking up all of my concentration.

I did, however, enjoy 3 more episodes from the second season of Six Feet Under. It leaves me feeling dissatisfied and pensive, though. And of course there will be more dreams today, because the show seems to be the most real part of this foolish day.

But I will say this--I am a girl who desperately needs one of those yuppie status symbols. Yesterday I missed all but 30 seconds of a meeting. Today I had a professor show up to learn about copyright registration (which I've never done at this job, mind you), catching me totally unprepared. When he called weeks ago, I was in the throes of my first round of interviews, figured I could set up a meeting the vague future, when I'd already be working at my exciting, new big-city job. Good thinking.

Whatever life confidence I may have appeared to have yesterday is long gone. Do I want to move? Would my so-called career be better off if I stayed and tried to move up, or shall I just go? Can I possibly survive on my present salary in the city, where I will have to pay actual rent and utilities? Not to mention car payments and increased insurance? Surely I wouldn't then have the cash to go out and see shows like I want, right? Fall is coming--this is part of the problem. I love fall and winter out here. And M. Kat & Jay are coming home soon and will be living across the road again. Well, Jay will be spending October out east at an apprenticeship to learn to build log homes.

What the heck am I doing?

Ah, life angst. They don't tell you when you're a teen that it doesn't actually get better or go away. Much like acne.

I'm feeling all the drama of being 17 again tonight, maybe because I've had so little contact with the world today. Best back to sleep. See you at work.