flashingreds...
interviews and momma's milk
(2002-07-24, 11:14 a.m.)
What a waste. Not that I don�t enjoy a trip to Chicago now and again, but this was dumb. A list of things I don�t understand:

1. Why someone who has resigned and will be leaving a company would be allowed to be the sole interviewer of her replacement.

2. Why said person would call someone from far away to come up for an interview, if she really didn�t have the time or interest to talk with me.

3. Why I had to fight to get her to answer questions about the job, questions I had every right to ask, and questions that should have made me look like a more intelligent candidate.

4. Why it should be held against me that I haven�t any museum experience, when my resume and cover letter clearly indicated this lack.

5. Why my parking fees were not waived, even though I used the garage operated by said museum. They could have at least offered to validate the ticket to save me a lousy dollar.

Other things

Um, what�s with the new billboards from the pork board? Granted I was slightly buzzed, exceedingly tired and mostly brain-dead as the car drove itself out of the city toward home, but I swear I saw a billboard that said, �I�d rather be eating pork.� I�m inclined to agree with ewenorker that bacon, and in a larger sense, pork, is just funny. I want a t-shirt with that slogan.

And as I drove home, XRT kept playing those crazy new milk ads . I heard the ones where Aaron Neville and Aretha Franklin thank their mothers for feeding them milk and then sing a jaunty little song about it. Anyone else wishing they�d specify that they�re talking about cow�s milk?

So I have a phone interview this afternoon. I need to prepare. They thoughtfully e-mailed a full job description for my review prior to the meeting. It�s got to be better than yesterday�s fiasco.

Another thing I hadn�t considered about museums�the workers� offices seem to be hidden in the basements, since the galleries get the fantastic views and natural lighting. I miss windows.

If you see a Siamese cat running about town today, let me know. Fuzzy�s getting bolder and has been making dashes toward freedom. I hear ya, cat.