flashingreds...
i walk these fields in a long black veil
(2002-07-25, 11:58 a.m.)
It�s a newsy sort of day. Lots of tidbits for your pleasure.

So the Oxford American magazine may have some life left in it, after all. Evidently a small publishing co. in Little Rock will start it afresh with a new music issue this fall. If it�s anything like the music issues of the past, I�ll be happy. Speaking of which, did anyone see the Judybats at Lincoln Park Fest? Do tell.

In other music news, has anyone heard the controversy over �John Walker�s Blues,� the song off the upcoming Steve Earle album? Further evidence of the fundamental differences between mainstream country music and alt-country. This is no flag-waving, go America Alan Jackson song. It�s lovely, thoughtful, and compelling. It urges rational and factual analysis of the situation, I think. The assertion that Earle�s career has been over for years and that this is a ploy to get attention is the most ludicrous crap that�s come out of Nashville in years. I am officially in a snit.

And what�s this about Rob Lowe leaving West Wing in the spring? Over money? In the end, he has not redeemed himself.

Has anyone read �The Black Veil� yet? Can someone talk about something other than Dale Peck�s ridiculous review? Well, I can, inasmuch as I can tell you I can�t even read this NYTBR review, because I can�t get past the fact that Mr. Leonard insist upon writing things like �Rick seems at first,� and the like. Can we please have some semblance of critical distance from anyone with regard to this book? And even if the new book isn�t great, it�s only fair to acknowledge Moody�s general writing prowess, in lieu of bashing him altogether as worthless. Critical distance. Okay. I�m buying it. I will get to the bottom of this, for the one person who isn�t tired of reading about this.

Now, on to life.

I had a nice phone interview yesterday, thanks. One where I was actually provided with a detailed job description ahead of time, so I could think about how well it fit with my background, what the challenges would be, and whether it even sounded like something I wanted to do. It does. But we�ll see. In the meantime, the search must continue.

Well, after today. It�s ewenorker�s last day, and that�s just weird. We had the formal departmental lunch outing yesterday, and uncomfortably silent breakfast gathering this morning, and now it�s nearly over. It must be Friday, because nobody leaves a job on a Thursday. Thankfully we�re having a little lunch outing now (just the three kids) and will hit the Sonic for limeades on the way back to work. The very best sendoff we can muster.

I just had a fierce author encounter over the phone. She�s using me like I�m her assistant, not a high-powered publishing professional. And by wearing me down, she gets what she wants.

Sonic, take me away!