flashingreds...
makin' the same mistakes again and again
(2004-03-29, 12:28 p.m.)
I�m listening to the sweetest radio station today. This morning a former coworker e-mailed from St. Louis to point out this radio station from Knoxville, TN, which he�s discovered and enjoys. So I tuned in for the morning. They�re celebrating the blooming magnolia trees (already�can you imagine?) with a set of music about trees. So they�ve played a cover of �Where Did You Sleep Last Night (In the Pines),� the old Leadbelly tune made famous to those of our generation by Nirvana; �Hickory Wind,� performed by The Byrds; �These Pines� by Kasey Chambers; etc. It�s a delicious break from my recent Postal Service obsession. And as promised, the DJ�s called �Red Hickey.� Mmm, now some Iris Dement. She�s nice in little bits.

Oh, I could�ve slept forever this morning, after a wakeful weekend. But the house smelled of caramelized onions, since last night I did my best to whip up enough food to get me through the workweek. I did the old favorite lentil soup, but instead of the lumpy little breakfast egg things of last week, I made a lovely frittata, which I shall enjoy all week.

Spinach Frittata

Heat oven to 425 degrees. In a 10 or 12 in. ovenproof skillet, fry a large sweet onion (halved and sliced) in a dab of olive oil. Add about 5 oz. spinach and cook until it�s wilted down. Remove from heat. In a medium bowl, mix 8 eggs (or 2 c. Egg Beaters), 1/4 c. water, 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper, 1 tsp. salt and 1/4 c. grated parmegiano reggiano or pecorino cheese. Evenly distribute spinach/onion mixture in skillet. Gently pour egg mixture over the top, place back on medium heat, and cook for 2-3 minutes, till the edges start to set slightly. Place in the oven for 8-10 minutes, till cooked. Loosen edges when you take it out of the oven, then let it sit for 5 minutes or so, then turn it out onto a plate. Makes 8 small breakfast servings or 4 main course servings.

For dessert, I offer you a tidbit about Lynne Cheney�s �steamy bodice-ripper.�

It was lovely to leave the confines of town yesterday, to hit the road, feel that whipping spring wind and see the standing water in the fields and the overflowing creeks. (In my hometown, that means the cemetery workers collect flowers, since one end of the cemetery frequently floods, as the creek rises.) I don�t think there�s any way to explain to city folk the difference it makes, the mental impact of watching the changes of the land as time goes past. Maybe you have other ways, maybe it�s just me that needs visible clues to feel the springtime feelings. The weather forecasters are constantly reminding us of the approaching tornado season. PBS is to air a purportedly magnificent NOVA episode tomorrow night on tornadoes. Thank god it�s the night I�m free from moonlighting. Though I can see not much painting will get done.

Oh, Red Hickey�s playing Scott Miller now. Now there�s a fine sign.