flashingreds...
set 'em up
(2004-03-17, 2:51 p.m.)
Shhhh, don�t tell, but I think this repeated fluffy morning snow quite lovely. Roads and sidewalks stay clear, but the trees and grass bear a sweet powdered sugar coating. There�s a lovely mist hanging in the air. Just the right sort of atmosphere for a day that�s bound to end with corned beef and Guinness and the company of my dearest bar acquaintances.

I regret not taking the Republican ballot yesterday. I didn�t even consider how important it could�ve been. The Democratic races were all safe, but I could�ve done my part to try to oust the county State�s Attorney, who is far more impressed with who offenders are and who they know (say, if they�re members of the university basketball team) than with ensuring the punishment suits the crime. And he just squeaked by yesterday, much to his surprise.

I�m clearly all disjointed today. Let�s skip right to a link announcing Michael Chabon�s new comic books, based on the comic book he invented for The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, which was simply enchanting. The comics will be drawn/written by old school pros, based on the stories outlined in TAAoKaC. It�s lovely, Michael, but might we please have a new novel? Another tasty book of short stories? My greed knows no bounds.

Speaking of greed, I have to say, OJ (other job) was amusing last evening. Children in late junior high can write the most shocking stories for standardized test prompts. Sure there were stories about Smurfs, but also about 2 girls fighting over one boy, with juicy tidbits about bare breasts and passionate sex. Though the latter tends to be announced in crass terms, rather than described or even discussed in accurate detail. Poor little monkeys. So many hormones, so little action. This is life, kids.

In other news, I ordered my patterns from Sublime Stitching. In spite of the mess I�ve made with my premier embroidery project, I�m optimistic I�ll be showering friends and loved ones with goofy homemade creations. Meg let me borrow her book of embroidery stitches (gorgeous stuff�we�re planning to work together to construct a couple fine crazy quilts), and it�s so inspiring. My pops is working on this pillow at present, as I do my kitschy cheap towel. Yep, we had a darling day Sunday. Father and I fixed lunch for Mom, I washed up, and after our naps, Pops and I did needlework, as she sat on the sofa, shouting at the basketball games. No gender stereotypes at work in that household, I promise you.

Alas, the sugar high yields the sugar low, brought to you by your friendly neighborhood sales rep, who insisted we each needed 2 fine chocolates, on top of the lovely lunch. I do have needs.