flashingreds...
happy hour
(2003-01-03, 10:55 p.m.)
Ah, happy hour. Brings the good gossip, doesn�t it?

It seems our local alternative weekly is defunct. It�s been on the brink the last few years; it was purchased last year by a media conglomerate that owns the local lite rock and country radio stations. You can imagine an alternative weekly doesn�t really have much in common with that sort of crowd, but it saved it for a bit, and we were pleased.

We can�t quite understand how our community fails to support such a venture, though. Cities of a similar ilk, say Madison and Athens, seem to have no troubles supporting alternative newspapers. What gives? I guess time will tell whether it�s revived again, but in the meantime, I realize I�ve come to depend on it as the only newspaper I pick up regularly. It�s not as if our big local paper will tell me what concerts are coming up in town, nor in Chicago.

No more band interviews. No more movie reviews. No more articles on things like straw houses and slow food.

It�s just one more example of why this town, which has so much promise, consistently fails to deliver on promises that it�s every bit as socially progressive as urban areas.

I guess this isn�t the good gossip, but rather the sad gossip.

What followed was running into an author with whom I�m working right now, who asked me whether we get bonuses in my workplace. Of course she knew the answer, having worked in another office years ago. But without bonuses, she wondered, what is our motivation for working hard to promote certain books, not the least of which was hers?

It seems the entire town might presently be plagued with a lack of motivation. Are we holding up anything worthwhile? Small music clubs become strip joints that become frat bars. Sources for more responsible journalism fold. Super Wal-Marts pop up, and the small campus movie theater becomes high-rise luxury student apartments.

I guess maybe this is why I still want out. I can be patient.