flashingreds...
mendy mendy
(2002-12-28, 8:49 a.m.)
Did anyone else watch the Kennedy Center Honors show on TV last night? Am I the only sickie who can�t go out yet?

I didn�t see it all. I happened to flip through when Elizabeth Taylor was being honored, and of course that�s one wreck at which one can�t help but stare. So I did. And you know I don�t like to be caught making snarky comments about LT--it�s so overdone. Even so, I feel like maybe we should talk about her, that maybe there�s a lesson to be learned somewhere in all of that mess, aside from the obvious lessons about bad hair color and clothing choices. The lesson? Everything has a consequence.

When they moved on to James Earl Jones, Kelsey Grammar began his tribute, and suddenly I was the train wreck, all choked up and reaching for the tissue box. And then they showed JEJ (or �Jimmy,� as it seems close friends like me who cry at his munificence are allowed to call him), all choked up himself, and we were off to the races. Sniffing continued through the Chita Rivera portion up until Steve Martin came out to talk about Paul Simon.

Thank goodness for Steve Martin, yet another national treasure. And I�m happy it was Paul Simon, rather than Paul McCartney. James Taylor won back 1.34 good points for bringing out Alison Krauss to sing with him. The only thing that upset me about that portion of the show was that I could sorta see Edie rocking out behind Paul, but the cameras never had the courtesy to show his beaming wife. Sigh. Instead we were repeatedly bombarded with images of George Bush. Let me tell you, when they were discussing JEJ�s illustrious stage career, mentioning particular plays in which he�d starred, I�ve never seen such a blank and bored look on Bush�s face. Well, that is until Shakespeare was quoted, then he just looked confused, casting sly looks to the side as if to try to determine whether anyone else understood, either. If not, I swear he�d have snickered. He just looked like he was about 14. He must�ve hated it.

Every time the camera panned toward him and Laura (or was that a mannequin?), I grabbed more tissue and let the tears fall.

----

In other news, it seems they�re moving in downstairs already. I would�ve thought it courteous to let me know, but I was awakened by the tv down there this morning.

I must look for a new place to live next week. This will not do. It�s hard to face up to the fact of staying, when I�m not yet ready to let go of my wish to live in Chicago. Alas, this is the time for movin� on.