flashingreds...
rock on, lee
(2002-10-11, 1:44 p.m.)
You know, I have never really been a patriotic person, in spite of my unnatural affection for Lee Greenwood�s �I�m Proud to be an American.� In fact, that affection is really more born of sarcasm and exasperation than anything, but I digress.

Did you listen to the Congressional hearings yesterday? Yeah, I caught more later in the day, and I have to say I was riveted. Sure, I�m disappointed to hear today that the resolution to give Bush the power to go to war with Iraq has passed. Yes, I think the ramifications could be horrifying. But I�m not dwelling on that yet. I�m still back in the moment of listening to my newfound hero, Sen. Robert C. Byrd, chastise the president and Congress about turning over excessive power to the president. He so eloquently discussed the origins of presidential power, how there was no presidential power without Congress to do things like summon militia, effectively granting the presidential powers. Yeah, he had some digressions that seemed a bit wacky, but I loved hearing him stand there and commit to continue blocking a vote until the flesh was hacked from his very bones.

At that moment, I felt a swell of patriotic pride unlike anything before. In that moment, I was grateful to live in a country where such a wise, sensible man could stand in front of the nation and chastise his president. Because that�s what his constituents were telling him to do. That�s what I wanted him to do. What an amazing place.

I wish I�d heard Hillary�s speech. I hear she was excellent, save for the part where she conceded that she�d side with the president. And I commend our director for the ability to have a tactful political discussion without alienating any party at the lunchroom table.

Sigh.

How is everyone else today?

I�ve been on the phone or in meetings most of the day, and time is flying. I feel good, important, and a tiny bit like a high-powered publishing professional.

The second interview has been delayed, due to scheduling conflicts with people I need to meet. It�s now a good week and a half away. I feel good about that.

So the weekend will be amazing, I�m sure of it. In a few short hours, I�ll go to K & W�s house to help them prepare for the big party tonight. I think my main purpose is to have pre-party drinks and to watch the band set up, as they believe that my adoration of live music somehow translates into roadie skills. Though admittedly, I can identify the instruments, monitors, etc., should they actually not mind some dippy chick carrying their gear. I am, however, fully qualified to assist with the pre-party drinks.

There will be purchases of antiques with friends. There will be enjoyment of Neko Case CDs that arrived in the mail yesterday. There will be indoors bike rides, once the bicycle is moved indoors and put it up on the trainer. If the oven is ever fixed, there will be apple pie or crisp. There will be crisp, fresh laundry dried outdoors. There will be hangovers. There will be books and naps and kittens and tea.

But for now, I shall go write to Sen. Durbin, thanking him for voting against Bush�s resolution.