flashingreds...
stormy friday blues
(2002-08-23, 2:26 p.m.)
Last night I ran barefoot, giggling and shrieking, through the mall parking lot at closing time. I felt like I was 8 again.

Do you wanna go play in the rain with me?

I must admit that the freewheelin� fun ended as I drove the 25 miles back home through a bitchin� storm. Barefoot still, as the shoes were slippery and gross. It was a big storm with lots of lightning, which got me thinking. I know you�re safe from lightning in a car, but does that hold true if you�re wet and driving barefoot (touching a metal part of the car directly)? It sure didn�t feel like a good idea.

Furthermore, I remember hearing that if your car was struck by lightning when you�re inside, you have to be really careful getting out. Something about sorta leaping out with both feet, rather than the usual way, so as to avoid being shocked. Obviously, you shouldn�t touch any metal part of the car, but does that mean you have to somehow propel your body out of your tiny little car all at once? If so, how does one do that? Maybe I need to buy a van or a truck, so it�d be easier. After all, this is Illinois.

It�s probably all a hoax. Maybe I�d be better off looking at hoax expos� pages. I usually make it a practice to not spread such stuff, but I�m asking you �cause you know about these things.

I should�ve stayed home today and done some research on that. Anything but show up here, on a day where we have students moving in, construction/moving vehicles blocking roads, and crazy preparations for the Bears game tonight. It�s a nightmare out there. And the take-out place was out of chopsticks for my Szechwan bean curd. And there was excessive drama and insubordination happening in the office today, and I can�t handle conflict. Unless I�m involved and am full of righteous anger.

Yikes.

So I shopped online. Ordered an odd purple/rust/goldish kinda stripy dress to wear when I give the reading. (I�ve been advised to say god, not God. You know, like a normal person, not a preacher.) I am drawn to the odd and flashy dresses, though this one will more than cover the cleavage. If it fits, due to the aforementioned cleavage. When will designers make dresses for women with chests? But I digress.

Feeling okay. Excited for the concert tonight.

Rock on.