flashingreds...
the race is on
(2004-07-12, 3:17 p.m.)
So, uh, remember that horseracing analogy of last week? Me swearing I was finished with meeting these ponies and was selling the farm, once I got rid of the stragglers?

So I walk into this bar Saturday eve, a bar I don't really like, but one that I selected. I see the fellow sitting at the bar with a beer, engrossed in the TV. I approach, tentatively say his name, and he turns to look. Smiles politely. I say something silly about the horse race on the television. To which he replies that he likes to bet on the horses sometimes.

Ah, me too.

Life is absurd.

Stay tuned tomorrow (or the next day or the next) for astute observations about small town ministers, dysfunctional families, memorial/funeral services and the unforeseen dangers of wearing sandals in the rain.

Till then, read some of Dave Eggers' short shorts. Some do ring true.