flashingreds...
american dream
(2004-06-07, 3:36 p.m.)
The fair ewenorker and I met up in Chicago for our planned outing. Of all the marvelous events going on Friday night (Steve Forbert, The Gourds, The Long Winters, etc.), we picked the cr�me de la cr�me�Miller Williams and Lucinda Williams performing in what he liked to call their tandem gig.

It took place in a rather antiseptic auditorium at the Art Institute, a room that felt more like a mediocre high school auditorium than anything else, but it was nice and small, and though we rushed in just before the starting time, we had a fantastic view.

Miller began the evening with a poem, and Lucinda picked a song she felt had a similar theme and played it. Lather, rinse, repeat. After the first few turns, it struck me that I felt a bit like I was in church, but a good parts version of church, with the spectacle and music. There was such a sense of connection. I admit I got chills and/or felt a bit teary several times in the sweet, sweet performance.

I wish I�d made a list of all the songs she played for us. Looking back, I�m a bit foggy, perhaps because I�ve been listening to the self-titled album a bit too much in the past month. Here are just a few: Night�s Too Long, Car Wheels on a Gravel Road, 2 Kool 2 Be 4-Gotten (a capella), Drunken Angel, Blue, Get Right with God, I Lost It, Bus to Baton Rouge, Atonement (a capella), World Without Tears and Pineola.

She started Little Brother, Little Angel but hadn�t played it in so long she wasn�t sure of the chord progression. The thing I love about watching her live is the thing I didn�t like about the last time I saw her live�she�s so obviously human. She forgets. And she gets frustrated and upset when she forgets. But it was a lovely, casual event, and the audience rather cherished the imperfection.

Miller read several of my favorites of his poems, and he resembled a minister, sitting quietly, reviewing his notes and tapping his toes to the music as she sang. And of course they were each so clearly proud of the other. It was so sweet it hurt.

I don�t know of any other dual appearances scheduled, but you should at least try to see her out on tour. Get your tickets right now. And purchase a book of his poetry from your favorite bookseller. (Or publisher. Ahem hem.)

Though we had a lovely time, it was nice to come back home a day early. And fortuitous, since I awoke with another ear event yesterday. Back on the steroids, but this is a very, very bad week for this crap to be happening. If you have any thoughts on appropriate interview wear for sultry southern states, please drop me an e-mail. I can�t imagine people actually wear suits in that.