flashingreds...
hell is chrome
(2004-04-16, 4:56 p.m.)
I dig the new Wilco album. Just a few more months till I can have it for my very own, to cart from home to work in my canvas bag of junk I�m too disinterested to throw away. I think �Spiders (Kidsmoke)� might be my favorite track so far. The last song, �The Late Greats,� which just came around, seems such a delicious poppy gem, the requisite throwback to A.M.

That�s it. I guess I�ll have to go see Wilco on this tour, too. I think the Summerteeth tour�s the only one I�ve ever missed, and that only happened because my car broke down the morning of the show, which was 60 miles away. As usual, I digress.

And I think (rap wood) I fixed my ear thing. Two weeks of a loud hum in the right ear, of splitting headaches and of freaking out that my hearing was going in the good ear, and it seems to be getting better.

I went to the doctor early in the week, and that crackhead diagnosed me as having tinnitus, since nothing seemed infected, since I hadn�t changed any meds or foods, had a sinus infection or gone to a loud concert without earplugs. She made an appointment for me to see an audiologist to be fully checked out (and because she�s got fabulous people skills, she insinuated I could have a brain tumor, too), though they can�t see me for 3 weeks. So in the meantime, I was quietly and (nearly) privately freaking out, imagining how sad my life would be if I were bereft of music.

So how did I �fix� my ear problem myself, pray tell?

Yes, kids, I attended a (hillbillyish) rock show last night, sat by the stage, and didn�t wear earplugs. And I took a coupla allergy pills, just for good measure. Forget the wonders of modern medicine. Here at flashingreds.diaryland.com, we prefer to laugh in the face of science and rationality. We prefer methods far more likely to shoot us in our feet. Foot. Whatever.

Today I�m feeling good. I�m no longer missing giant chunks of the conversations going on around me. The headache is manageable. The hum is essentially gone.

I believe in the curative powers of life music. But I haven�t gone so far off the deep end that I ambushed Luther Wright and the Wrongs at noontime, when I saw them wander by, as we enjoyed our first outdoor lunch of the season, to tell them of their miraculous music. I simply said to my cohorts, �Oh, that hair color is awful in the daylight,� nibbled my salmon salad, and felt the freckles multiplying.

Man alive, there�s nothing like good live music and cheap vodka to make a girl feel like a million bucks.

On 4 hours of sleep, I fear the long-term consequences. There�s an arts festival this weekend, and I need to go see a coworker�s contributions. The crazy Chicago gang�s in town tonight (one night only!), there are some pleasant-sounding bands playing out (I consider that ear care), and I want to be a part of all of it. Yet I must be careful, so I can spend tomorrow helping accept and doing paperwork for all the artists� contributions for next week�s Artists Against AIDS show. And tomorrow night, several parties, maybe a Bonnie Prince Billy show. And a benefit Sunday afternoon through eve for a local musician, which promises not only lots of local bands but also surprise celebrity guests. It wouldn�t do to miss a thing.

Yet I�m still going home and having a nap.