flashingreds...
shellac
(2004-01-15, 4:45 p.m.)
Honestly, can someone please explain why this president�s still doing so well in polls? Does anyone listen to the fact that all of Central and South America hates our leader and his policies? I�m not so keen on awakening to world news in the mornings.

Thanks to the local independent radio station, which ran old speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr. this morning, I know whose birthday it is. Evidently Bush knows, too. But the people of Atlanta aren�t buying it.

Sigh. He�s gotta go.

I�m thrilled at the news that Al Franken will soon have his own syndicated radio show, airing opposite Rush Limbaugh, and that it will be broadcast in Chicago (though on what was a Spanish-language station).

As primary season approaches, I�m thinking of subscribing to salon.com again. They�ve been on their last leg for years now, but it sounds like things might be looking up. And if they�re going to serialize Dave Eggers� new book, well, that helps. Quite a bit.

In the meantime, I�m stewing about jobs, as usual. My elder sib called today to report on her forthcoming job change, where she�ll join a consulting firm as a partner. Seems the hubby�s entering the management team at his firm next week, too. She suggested, not entirely joking, that I simply move there and work for one of them, since I�d just finished professing apathy for my career path and indecision at where to head, which is evident from my current ideas.

In the end, it�s probably just the thought of a change of scenery to a town where I�d have a few (albeit borrowed) friends and of needing a new work wardrobe that has captivated my imagination. I should concentrate on the serious lack of upcoming alt-country and indie rock bands passing through on their tour. Seems nothing plays in Peoria these days.

And I love my apartment so much it feels sinful.