flashingreds...
-
(2003-12-23, 5:29 p.m.)
My eldest sister just informed me she purchased brown and serve rolls to feed us Thursday. She�s trying to ruin Christmas.

Sigh.

One holiday gathering down, one to go. I drove up to the aforementioned elder sister�s house and rode on north with them to the grandparents� house, feeling very much the put-upon spinster sister. I was crammed into the back seat between the door and my 10-month-old nephew�s giant car seat. Once her husband got in and moved the seat back, I swear my knees were at my chin.

The baby laughed at me. �Oh, how hilarious that old Auntie flashingreds has no family of her own and has to ride next to me,� he giggled, before whapping me in the forehead with his pacifier, then tossing it to the floor for me to retrieve. He is cute as hell, it�s true, and by riding with him, he was too distracted to sleep, so I got the benefit of an hour of happy baby before the grump came on. But the insults hurt.

I tell you what, that kid is crap at cards. Don�t let him play your hand.

The grandparents were all in fairly good form�far better than at Thanksgiving. Grandpa called us by name as we came in, which is nearly unheard of these days. My eldest sister did make me give her my plate of Christmas cookies Grandma made me, since she�d imagined having cookies when we�re at her house Thursday, and she didn�t want to bake them. At the time, I was weak from over stimulation, but now I resent it. I want my cookies now, not a week later, when they�re stale.

Ah, well, happy holidays.

For you, I leave this: William Shatner�s professed to have finished an album, which Ben Folds purportedly produced.