flashingreds...
let's live together sweetheart
(2003-11-25, 5:11 p.m.)
Billy Corgan�s first collection of poetry will be published in Fall 2004, to coincide with the release of his first solo album.

Maybe I should say his first official solo album. Zing.

Somehow that reminds me to mention formally that I believe McSwy�s Issue 12 will be in stores near you soon. If you don�t have a subscription, you must run right out and snatch up your copy of this issue, which features a story from our very own Sparky, late of So-Ill, once of here, and originally of NoW-Ill. I�d threatened to hold a salon chez flashingreds and make him and JoJo Beans come up and do a reading, but somehow the pub date�s encroached upon the holiday and baby-birthing season. I am sad. I wanted everyone to wear bathrobes and mud masks and to paint their nails and drink sparkling water. And martinis. But I�m still bloody thrilled for Sparky.

Hmm. Any other releases or publications to which we should pay attention?

I guess I could record here for posterity the promise I made to my father this week--I�m going to begin a book endeavor soon. It�ll be a cookbook/culinary history of family recipes, also including, of course, the things I�ve added to my repertoire, which are distinctly un-Swedish. What started as a conversation about organizing and preserving the stained and tattered handwritten recipes in notebooks and the newspaper clippings handed down from my great grandmother and her siblings somehow became a plan to preserve not only the recipes, but also the unwritten tales that do and should go along with them. So soon the archives will be transported to my spare room. (All attempts to call it the optimistically named creativity room are off, since it�s sealed off and unheated at present.) I guess I�ll begin by cleaning off the painting desk. Buying a stool and a lamp.

Yeah. So there�s the plan. I like it best right now, when it�s impossible to begin just yet, so I feel no guilt about neglecting it, just fervent optimism that it�ll be a fantastic project that I�ll be able to finish.