flashingreds...
well above average
(2003-10-15, 4:17 p.m.)
I�ve been to the doctor so much in the past six months it�s as if I were pregnant. Today was the final visit. I hope. Rap wood.

I�m tired of being exceptional in stupid, weird ways. I don�t want to be an interesting specimen. I�m not fond of hearing, �Well, I�ve only seen this a few times. They were both fine, so you should be, too.�

The doctor was great, though. She listened and talked. While she politely described what she would be doing at each step, we had a nice conversation about the insanity of health plans not covering birth control medications. About the costs of pills versus the costs of unplanned pregnancies and sexism. She said she was appalled when she arrived 23 years ago to find the local HMO not covering birth control, and she told me she�d just talked to them again this week about it all.

At the risk of getting all worked up again, I will note that birth control pills are prescribed to alleviate the effects of a variety of actual medical conditions, say endometriosis. (Did you see the item in the NY Times about suppression of menstruation? Creepy, but I really want to believe it�s okay. Think of all the money saved on supplies.) As a prescribed medical treatment for any number of painful conditions, it should be covered.

She reminded me I�m lucky my employer covers any at all, even though they limit us to 4 types of pills and make us get them on campus. Even though the ones that work for me leave me so nauseated I feel like I�m coming down with the flu. I, for one, am not surprised that studies have shown women�s sex drives decrease when they�re on the Pill. I�m inclined to say productivity and mental health suffer, as well, until the body acclimates. Studies have shown my own to be stupidly exceptional on this matter, as well, so it�ll be a few months of bland food and ginger ale again.

Have you read the 2� by 3� insert in a pack of pills lately? The side effects and potential dangers go on and on. Some bedside reading�it�s the makings for lovely dreams.

I maintain I don�t know if it�s worth it. No one can really speak to the long-term effects of birth control of any sort, much less suppression of periods. In the immediate short-term, it�s turning a few days of agony into several months of constant nausea. Good work, pharmaceutical companies. Way to go. You get my vote.