flashingreds...
pick up the change
(2003-09-19, 5:10 p.m.)
I happened upon Wilco on PBS�s Soundstage last night. Perfect end to an evening, that. Just rockin� out in the ol� La-Z-Boy, singing toward the Fuzzman, watching the boys groove. Nice to see Jeff cleaned up a bit for PBS.

Kudos to the dude in the yellow shirt who couldn�t contain his excitement. We love that. You know, so long as we�re not right behind him, and he�s not hopping on our toes. We, the people, that is.

Alas, it got me feeling all nostalgic again, though, thinking of the past concerts, thinking of the access we once had those many years ago, of how they were small and now they�re playing arenas and riding a tour bus. It�s neither here nor there, nor very interesting. Moving along, then.

At the end of the show, the band played �Kicking Television.� I got to thinking about the ill-fated (drunken, that is) conversation I had with a JP from Chicago several weeks ago. How we gauge each other by determining musical interests. Given his enthusiasm for several local hard rock, wall-of-guitar bands (Hum, for instance), I was shocked to find Wilco as common ground. Yes, he was at the SIU show in May, but also the campus show here, which I recalled not enjoying. He thought it rocked. Can't recall his verdict on Grand Ulena. But let�s think about hard rock. Let�s read this review of a NYC show from earlier this summer, which compares our Wilco to our Radiohead, which we adore ever-so-much, too. But in completely different ways. Let's realize JP knows and likes new Wilco. Glenn Kotche Wilco.

Oh. Oh, I see. So I should�ve picked up on this? That Wilco is making a turn, turning over a new leaf, as it were? One for which I wasn�t consulted?

If you saw the PBS show, you know what I mean. Reb saw the Grand Ulena coming out, too. And I don�t want to be an old fogy about it�I mean, though I haven�t had the dough to pick up a new CD in months, I do intend to keep up on things. I don�t want to wake up tomorrow to find my favorite radio station is, well, �classic� anything.

I like experimental art. I don�t like pretension. I liked Jay Bennett�s contributions. I see how it wasn�t a good working relationship. I don�t like electronic loops. I like live music.

I don�t want to keep them in a box. I just don�t want them to give me a headache.

(One last Radiohead thing, from Kate via Rob. Oh yeah.)