flashingreds...
two wheels good, four wheels bad
(2003-09-08, 12:16 p.m.)
What on earth was the point of the presidential address last night? Why the seeming urgency? We were certain he was going announce a new nation to attack or some such thing. Thank goodness it wasn�t so. Sure, sure, he was trying to drum up support for the unnerving amount of money he�ll request from Congress. Definitely trying to make it look like he was right in the first place, now that other countries are obliged to step in and help, with him asserting they�re helping because they�ve seen the error of their ways, not because they�re scared of what our government will do alone. He did sound somewhat convincing, aside from the early reiteration of the WMDs, but only if you�ve been in a coma for the past 23 years. And really, did they have to interrupt City Slickers?

If only I were kidding. But Fox foolishly thought we�d be impressed by them running Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon dubbed in English, instead of their reliable Sunday evening fare.

This on top of that miserable Bears loss�there was no salvaging the day.

Speaking of salvage, if the car isn�t fixed in this, the third week of trips to repair shops, I�m putting it up on blocks in the front yard and planting flowers in it. Actually, I should put it in the south yard to cover up part of the giant patch of unshorn grass. I think I�m swearing off anything with four wheels and a motor. A wheel fell off the mower as I tried to mow the massive, uneven lawn yesterday. Instead of running out to a hardware store for a new nut to reattach the thing, I got angry, put it away and took a shower. Then we circle back to the wretched Bears game, a visit from my mother, City Slickers and the president. Capped off by the smell of gas and a lesson in pilot lights.

Clearly I can�t move. And it�s okay. I�ll buck up and call to cancel the 2nd interview soon. It�s turned into a contract job for months, and it seems so foolish to uproot for promises that it�ll be a real job someday, when previous promises haven�t fared so well. After all, who would zip over at 9 pm to light my pilot light?

Yeah. But it�s not all a loss. We saw the loveliest John Prince concert Friday night. I wasn�t terribly excited, didn�t think I knew all that many JP songs, lamented that I�d have to sit still in unsupportive chairs for too long. But oh, he was delightful, round and jolly. And of course we knew almost all the songs. That�s the beauty of John Prine�everyone covers his music. The poor man was rather ill, and his voice isn�t what it used to be in the first place, but once he got going, all was well.

Not just well, but frankly rocking. I thought he�d play forever.

Also good? Pumpkin ale is back for the season. It�s even more tasty when you don�t have a half dozen martinis before partaking.

Lest we get too happy, witness this. It can be yours for a mere $39.99. Though beware the backorders. Now today�s Boondocks makes much more sense.

Welcome to my roller coaster. I brake for Big Lots.