flashingreds...
back to the polls
(2003-08-19, 9:39 a.m.)
Bugger.

Remember last fall, when I was mulling an offer from Prospective Suburban Employer? Remember how much I liked Prospective Boss, but how I didn�t want to live in Upscale Suburb?

Last night, out of the blue, I got a call. Seems they�ve weathered the storms of uncertainty and know they�ll be around for several years for certain, then possibly moving into the city. Seems they�re ready to hire a permanent person now and wonder whether I want to be considered.

Hella good timing, eh? Just now, when I�ve finally settled into an acceptance of my lot in life, when I�ve found the most marvelous and wonderful apartment ever, when I�m loving drop in company and the ability to stumble home from any old place I wish. Can I possibly uproot to a suburb, where I�ll know nobody? Yes, it�s a good bit more money, but is it enough to make a dent in the debt, since it�ll be more expensive there? But what a tremendous difference it would make to have a boss who gets me, who�s marvelous and cool. And a job that�s more in line with what I thought I wanted to do. But let's be honest--it's not my dream job. It's a cubicle job with paperwork, only back to managing projects and working with vendors, which I miss.

I�m powerless to feel swayed by either side. I am broke. I hate thinking about a career. I realize that simply sticking around is a career decision, as well. One that horrifies me.

Oh, but there is no money at all. This move has been far more expensive than I anticipated.

Time to vote. Think of it as reality programming.