flashingreds...
kingpin
(2003-08-11, 5:26 p.m.)
It�s strange to finally live in a town I�ve been around for most of my life. I thought I achieved townie status long ago, but as Miss P. and I stumbled home from a show downtown Saturday night, full of giggles and truths, I realized only now have I become one of them. And I don�t mind.

Well, maybe I�m not quite there yet. I�m still way too excited about things like walking anywhere or ordering food for delivery. There are so many small, silly things I�ve wanted to do, things like hit the farmer�s market early Saturday morning, go out to the apple orchard or roll out of bed and nurse a hangover at a Sunday brunch, but I�m the only one I know who�s enamored of such things. It�s not new and exciting for anyone else.

I should pause to add that Jeremy is a saint. I made some wise choice of a best pal. The dear boy gave up both free time and vacation time to spend nearly a week helping with such delightful tasks as breaking into a house to steal a couch (the famous pink ancestral sofa), stripping wallpaper and painting almost every exposed surface in my sizable new apartment. His reward? I spilled water on him at Fiesta, bought him lunch at the mother ship, called him pretty and refused to go watch him jump at the World Free Fall Convention, but he claims he enjoyed feeling so butch from doing all that manual labor.

I�m thinking of rescinding my demand that he mow the lawn each time he needs to crash at my place. Eh? Though it could sure use a trim right about now, and only half the kitchen cabinet doors are back on.

Sigh. Hella way to spend my summer vacation, too. Since everyone under the sun is moving, I couldn�t get a truck, and instead relied upon the kindness of friends with large vehicles. Half the stuff arrived last Wednesday, and we finished with a big crew Saturday. Now that everything�s moved, the week of intensive redecorating seems worth it. The landlords were quite surprised, but definitely complimentary. The place is unrecognizable and I adore it.

Best of all is the new bed. Because I�m a dork and didn�t attend those mandatory classes on being a grownup, the box spring didn�t fit up the staircase. For a small fee, the kind fellows took it away and brought a split queen box frame the next afternoon, giving us just enough time for the entryway/hallway paint to dry. Now thanks to the bed and to my physical therapist, I should be back on the bike in a week or so. The pain is now so small.

For the first time ever, I went home for lunch today. I ate cold pizza, watched an episode of Reading Rainbow about numbers, saw people making crayons, was gripped with an awesome desire for a brand new box of 96 crayons, learned how food service workers at Giant Stadium order food for football games, and clipped Fuzzy Jesus�s toenails before heading back. By god, if I�d only thrown a load of laundry in the washer, that would�ve been livin� the high life.

In celebration, perhaps I�ll put the cat on his leash and have a celebratory beer on the front porch this evening. Cheers.