flashingreds...
haggling with hobos
(2003-07-17, 5:12 p.m.)
Once again, I find myself in need of a class to teach me how to be an adult. Maybe y�all (IL natives, at least) learned things like where/when to tip and where/when/how to haggle in Consumer Ed? If only I hadn�t tested out.

So I sampled mattresses at lunch. Compared prices, features, extra fees. And I have to say, my mother was right. I insisted a fairly basic model would satisfy my needs, while she gave the speech on how it�s an investment, etc. But those sales folk are good. They show you precisely what you�ve asked to see, and then they show you the nicer model. They encourage you to lie down and toss about (don�t they?), until you realize you need that nicer model. That you�ll go sell your blood for months to finance that mattress. That when you own it, you�ll never want to get out of bed, and doesn�t that sound like the best thing ever?

I want the nice one. I want it from the first store, a local place that makes the mattresses on site. But it�s a better deal at the warehouse chain. As I lamented the cost of being a responsible contributor to the local economy, Marzetta informed me I simply need to haggle. Others agreed that this is a case where it�s normal to haggle.

Anyone else have a tough time understanding when a price tag is a price tag and when it�s the starting point for a discussion? I mean, I merrily accepted the shaft at the Saturn dealership, just to avoid this whole phenomenon. Maybe I�ll borrow Marzetta�s husband. He helped Miss P. through her new car purchase. Best to take advantage of his wisdom and generosity before the salespeople in town get together at the next, uh, salespeople happy hour at the Office or something, and figure him out.

In other news, Miss P. and I have narrowed down our prospective demolition derby outings to one out of three. My back�s wrecked today, and tomorrow demands happy hour and the mother ship, and we�d like to not be too dirty and stinky before the final after hours in the purple house with Coach�s Chicago crew. So Saturday it is. We�ll have fair food and watch the cars smash each other up. And the people, who may or may not smash each other up. Oh, the county fair.

Sunday? Jay Bennett and Ed Burch. Reb is missing so much being out of town. But I�m making good use of her place, in the meantime.

On an unrelated note, Alejandro fans will want to make note of this. I�m a bit behind on news, as usual. And I wanted to talk to Robbie about it, since he�s playing at a benefit in Chicago, but I was too desperate to get around the corner to the mother ship, which seems to be suffering from the influx of new bars with beer gardens this summer.

Spread so thin these days, I tell you.