flashingreds...
hobo's lullaby
(2003-07-14, 5:29 p.m.)
Lately I�ve been obsessed with hobos. The word, the feeling of saying it, the concept�there is nothing about hobo I don�t like.

Did you know today is the birthday of Woody Guthrie, celebrated leftist musician and hobo? Born in 1912, according to the Slingshot organizer.

Which brings me to this�I forgot to tell Jeremy he needs to find a boyfriend, simply so I could refer to the fellow as his hobeaux.

I kill myself. I do.

Completely unrelated to hobos or hobeaux, I get the keys to my new apartment in 18 days. I�m hoping to move sleeping accoutrements in as quickly as possible. It�s beyond time to get out.

Saturday afternoon I had a brief nap on the couch in between the garage sale and camping out to score a table in the beer garden for the Robbie Fulks. When the alarm went off, I stumbled into the bathroom to get ready, only to be startled by a loud voice from the hall. I was treated to J saying, �Wow, if we�d had sex like that first thing this morning, I would�ve been more awake.� I couldn�t decide whether it would be appropriate to comment or applaud, so I held back.

But really. This is the crap I put up with when we were actual roommates in college. This is not what I should deal with�oh, wait. I�m moving. I don�t care about the exposed wires in the kitchen light socket, nor the malfunctioning outdoor light. Ahhh.

Hobos wouldn�t complain. Hobos would be grateful for a bed (or even a couch, as the case may be) and a roof and would move on down the road. (See how it comes full circle? Hurts, doesn't it?)