flashingreds...
bad name
(2003-05-19, 6:01 p.m.)
I�m nursing my wounded pride.

I want to be the beloved, not the lover. I want to have the position of power.

I do not want to be anyone�s rebound, nor do I want to play nursemaid to anyone�s wounded heart.

I want the power to reject�because it smacked of rejection. Rejection in a Hawaiian shirt, shorts and gym shoes. In a shy, non-communicative manner. With a pat on the arm and a hasty goodbye.

Sigh.

Rejection with a liberal dose of mixed messages and with an audience of 15 friends and acquaintances. Hooray! Who doesn�t like the sounds of that?

There shall be no men with the following names admitted:

Patrick

Ben

Jamie

Mark

Curt

Brian

Matt (Matthew is fine)

Rick

Phil

Aaron

Mike (Michael will do)

Jared

Richard

Doug

Stephen/Steve

Bill (William is fine, maybe even Will)

Bob

Dan

Corey

Tim

David/Dave

Josh

I�m sorry, it�s just the way it is. Of course, I�ll acknowledge that I have a quintessential cheerleader name entirely unsuited to my personality.