flashingreds...
folding time
(2003-05-08, 5:39 p.m.)
Listening to Quasi, thanks to Webster. It�s helping. I see I�m not the only one having troubles finding someone to buy my soul, so I can pay my bills.

So here�s the question of the day�do I feel guilty for using social services, though I do have actual insurance that would theoretically cover parts of my medical bills? Because I felt like such an ass sitting in the waiting room in my young professional attire and designer purse, when girls in pajamas were coming in to see if they could possibly be fit in to the already packed schedule. I heard staff members turning people away over the phone. But I make it easy�I pay full price, right up front. I know what I need. Sigh. And the fact is, I won�t go to my doctor for these things, until I can find a new one. One who could see me before I turn 30. But yet, my personal comfort seems a hard price for some to pay.

Bah.

Again today we�re back to the conversation I started with Mark at lunch several days ago about doing jobs that people devalue. I guess I carried that thread over drinks with Reb the other night, too. I thought I was over it, until I read Omar�s blog at terribly-happy yesterday, wherein he pointed out gross indifference on the part of print professionals for my specific line of work. And Mark noted the same disapproval toward his editorial work, even within his own company. Should go without saying for poor Reb.

This is not the time to have jobs that many consider expendable, no matter how important we hold them to be. And isn�t it important to communicate clearly and to not get yourself sued? We hold that it is, yet we�re only 3 people.

Kate, it seems, has the solution. She believes my true calling is to be a snobby Manhattan magazine editor who only shows up at the office long enough to find the petty cash drawer. Heh. Well, aside from the intimation of lax morals, it�s momentarily amusing. It implies an ability to spend lots of money on darling shoes, which litter display windows in Manhattan.

I am desperately in need of darling shoes for the upcoming trip to LA. Shoes that make me feel smart and sassy, professional looking numbers that won�t kill me when I stand in them for 10 hours a day. Yesterday�s sleek sling back pumps are out. And furthermore, what do young professionals working displays at trade shows in LA in late May wear? Suits sound too warm. Too stuffy. Open toe shoes okay?

Yep. These are the times that try my soul. Next week it�s on to apartments. Hold on to your vanilla chai, kiddies. And don�t let them give you that dreadful sugary, powdery crap.