flashingreds...
backsliding
(2003-03-21, 9:53 a.m.)
Here�s the thing�it�s only just begun, and I�m already tired of everyone equating support for the troops to support for the president�s scary new policy of pre-emptive strikes (where does it stop?). All the democratic members of Congress (save my favorite, Robert Byrd of WV) can think to do is use every opportunity to comment on supporting the troops, rather than maintain the antiwar stance many had before this all started.

As a child of a Vietnam vet, I understand that it�s important for everyone to acknowledge these troops are doing their jobs. There is no room for dissent in the military. However, neither is there room for our national leaders to take on this posture of blind followers. We know what happened to Vietnam vets; we won�t judge the troops for the orders of their leaders.

I still want proof that this is necessary action. I want to know what�s going on in Afghanistan. I want to know what�s going on with the war games in S. Korea, which have N. Korea up in arms. N. Korea, which we know has capabilities beyond what our government thinksIraq might have. I want to know what�s going on in Cuba, where citizens accused of plotting with US diplomats are being detained. What else is slipping under our collective radar?

I�m tired of hearing interviews with the Joe Smiths in coffee shops across the country, interviews where he vehemently brands the antiwar protests throughout the country as wrong. No, sir, that is not true. The antiwar demonstrations are a part of what�s so great and so important about America�the right to have differing opinions from your leaders. The right to make them be accountable for their actions.

----

Are you tired yet? Overloaded? Depressed? It was a rough week here before the war began, and after several days of tears everywhere, I�m making pockets for war-free areas of my life.

No birthday happy hour tonight, though. I haven�t felt up to addressing it, and now I�m trying valiantly to stave off a cold. My voice is low and sultry. Mainly just scratchy. Coach and I leave Sunday for a mini-vacation in Chicago, and we have so much to do. There is no room for illness.

Will the Oscars go on? Will the parties be the same? We�re to go to a big party somewhere in the city Sunday night, with a whole crowd of people I won�t know. I haven�t really put much thought into the birthday lately, but somehow this sort of party feels right for this year. No fuss. Tuesday night the Robbie Fulks birthday extravaganza at Martyrs� will be the place to let our metaphorical hair down and kick up our heels at aging.