flashingreds...
$%&@
(2003-03-10, 5:28 p.m.)
All afternoon I wanted nothing more than to take off my Kurt Cobain sweater (you know--the one he wore when they were on Unplugged), but the toothpaste stain on my left boob made that an unpopular option.

I think that pretty well sums up what�s going on these days.

The weekend was a nightmare. So much residual anger and hurt and rage that a gray cloud enters the room minutes before I arrive. People know to stay away. Jeremy rang today, and he�s lucky he caught me at work and got the censored, polite version. The only thing that saved me was having a recently procured copy of Birds of America by Lorrie Moore. Damn. I forget how good she is. Her books are so slim and unobtrusive on the bookshelf, which makes for pleasant surprises when I rediscover them. Yes, the weekend needed much more reading and alone time.

And for god�s sake, what�s wrong with XRT? When did they become all Fleetwood Mac and Talking Heads? It wasn�t the Saturday morning flashback show, and I�m not saying I don�t like the occasional David Byrne song, but they used to toss in some Radiohead, Steve Earle, Lucinda, or even John Mayer, for crying out loud. Bah. Bah!

Suburbs are wretched places. Their names all try to evoke something that simply isn�t there�Mt. Prospect? Round Lake Beach? There�s no mountain, and though I�m told there�s a beach somewhere, it can�t possibly compare to an actual coastal beach. They�re all about lakes and parks and forests, but it�s all an illusion designed to make you think you�re living somewhere interesting. If I were to go hang out in the city, I�d rather drive from home. It takes nearly as long to get in from the damned suburbs, anyway. Why suburbs, people? Why? What do they offer, save subdivisions full of identical houses and an endless supply of chain restaurants?

I am not enamored of them.

I am enamored of an evening at home. Alone. There is cooking to be done. And PBS, learning about sandwiches.

Let me just say this: In spite of what you might think, Pilates does not qualify as a party game.