flashingreds...
takin' it to the street
(2003-03-07, 11:06 a.m.)
I missed the speech last night, and Reb hasn�t yet sent me her recap. J and I went to see Arcadia, and for all my endless complaining, it was a lovely evening and a nice production of the play. I can�t say my mind didn�t wander, but who among us isn�t more interested in what the live turtle�s doing up there on stage (poor dear was jammed up against the side of his glass bowl, adamant that he could get out if he�d just keep trying to march forward)? And the fellow playing Gus had the most excellent Flock of Seagulls hair.

I know this much�dissent is futile, inasmuch as our president will have his war, yet I�m going to the localWomen Against War rally at lunch. The speakers will be talking about what effects a war on Iraq will have on Iraqi women and on women everywhere and such. I�ve noticed that the foreign media�s certainly paying attention to the widespread protests here, even if our elected government officials (ah, wait�remember we did not elect Bush) refuse to listen to their constituents and vote accordingly. It�s frustrating, but taking small steps to ensure people in other countries understand the extent of American dissent is one thing we can still do. You know, until election time rolls around again.

Today I rather feel like camping out outside the polling place until it�s time again.

Tomorrow my copy of Partly Cloudy Patriot leaves for Nicaragua. I couldn�t be more pleased. A coworker�s headed for an educational vacation. The poor girl is getting all sorts of advice from people who�re worried about the tendency toward kidnapping Americans in Columbia. Uh huh. I suggested purchasing a large world map for display in the office. We could all use a bit of help sometimes.

I shall do nothing so interesting tomorrow. Head to Mt. Prospect for reinforcements, then on to Mundelein and eventually to Round Lake. I think. Then home Sunday, the day Kate takes off for Paris.

Immediately, however, there will be lentil soup and samosas. Off we go.