flashingreds...
acidic solutions
(2003-02-11, 11:44 a.m.)
Here�s the thing about central IL: If it only snows 3 inches, the cities and townships don�t deem it necessary or worthwhile to plow the roads before we, the taxpayers, head off to work. (Nope, I don�t own property, but I�m paying sales tax, and I believe that should count for something.)

I had an argument with a coworker yesterday about this very topic. Her hubby works for the city, so she was saying things like �budget cuts� and �no money.� And I said things like �emergency vehicle response time,� �accidents� and �earlier shifts on snow days in the interest of public safety.� She rolled her eyes at me. I don�t believe I�m being stupid or unreasonable.

Sigh.

Please feed me. So hungry.

Which reminds me--Friday is Arizona Statehood Day, the cause for much celebration around here, simply for the vague reason that a few Arizonans used to work here and instituted a party. We carry on the celebration in their absence with a potluck at high noon, complete with mariachi music, paper cacti, appropriate potluck dishes and tequila ice cream. Or frankly anything that�s remotely symbolic of that vague Southwest area.

Whilst you celebrate your VD on Friday, we�ll be wiping our burning eyes, gulping water, and dreaming of a warm and sunny place.

A warm and sunny place with no taxes, please. Anyone else having troubles? Last year I cashed out the smallest 401k ever (which had lingered unattended since I left my last job) and put most of the proceeds into a Roth IRA. In the year since I�ve done that, I�ve never bothered to open the statements, since they just make me feel stupid and poor. So imagine my disgust when I determine there�s no simple way to report this on my tax form. No �enter amount from your 1099-R (or whatever it�s called) here.� Instead there�s Form 8606, and I must find Publication 590 (some 100 pages, I might add), in order to figure out how to fill out the form. I couldn�t bear to look at it last night. I�m carrying on in the optimistic belief that the index of the publication will have a chapter labeled �For flashingreds.� Long gone are the glory days of the 1040EZ and Telefiling.

Maybe I�ll go reform the federal tax system. After lunch.