flashingreds...
bowling for combines
(2003-02-06, 12:09 p.m.)
The Slingshots carry on. It was clearly no longer the maiden voyage; it was as if we were drug-addled former beauty queens driving down the highway in bumper cars.

Thankfully no one was physically injured, but I suspect the children bowling on either side of us learned new words each time JB slid painfully over the angry knife wound across my thumb.

Midway through the event, it occurred to me that people thought we were drunk. Given the pitcher of beer and our rather raucous laughter, it was an understandable assumption. Oh, but we were just high on life, not Miller High Life. We�re lucky we haven�t yet been given a stern lecture about our behavior.

Next week we plan to double in size. In number, that is. The search for shirts continues.

It�s a lovely way to spend a perfectly decent Wednesday. Lovely for a drive home, singing along to �The Tennessee Stud� and �You Are My Sunshine� on the Old Timer�s Country Jamboree (Wednesday evenings from 6-9, available at wwhp.com�you�ll love it). The high notes of the latter (and my own horrified giggles at the sounds I was making) caused more cringing than usual�the distance between here and home is unbearable when my bladder�s full. It could�ve been, and nearly was, rather disastrous.

Ah, yes. Well, similarly, it seems we�re nearing the national debt ceiling, which was just raised last June. I identify with that.