flashingreds...
piss and moan
(2003-01-29, 5:46 p.m.)
Oh, I�ve read it all. I have nothing new to say about the State of the Union address. We all saw the same things. Read Jake Tapper�s article on Salon today.

I felt sick listening to the president whore himself about in the beginning, trying to sound, well, liberal, with his talk of hydrogen-fueled cars, aid to Africa for AIDS work, prescription drug help for the elderly, etc. But there are holes in the rhetoric. Look at the details of his proposals. Sigh. It�s the same old stuff.

And where, pray tell, is the money going to come from for all these fabulous initiatives? At this point, we have unemployment problems, businesses downsizing, reductions in school budgets, funding cuts for schools and social service organizations, etc. If the president thinks that the average American hasn�t been touched by financial hardship in some form, he�s terribly na�ve. And on top of funding his grand new schemes, we�re going to go to war, which will cost how much per day? Hmm? I think I can speak for the average woman when I say it doesn�t add up in my mind.

They are all the same, these politicians, aren�t they?

But even more than that, why on earth was I interrupted with phone calls 4 times during the speech? Refusing to answer did no good, since Meg just kept calling. But I ran my mother through the wringer. We should know what�s going on. And I think junior high teachers have a responsibility to watch, so they can discuss world events with their students, rather than simply teaching them to crochet.

Oh, sorry. It�s not you.

I�m not all piss and vinegar today. Just mostly.

I just learned John Edgar Wideman is coming in March. That�s nice. It�s St. Patrick�s Day. That�s not so nice.

I heard from a long lost pal in Chicago today. After talking to her and heading out in the warm and melting outdoors today, I�m feeling discontent and impatient. May the resolutions for the year of 27 be inspiring and, well, within the realm of possibility.

The Slingshots� executive committee is going to check out a bowling alley tonight. Anyone know where we can order cool bowling shirts? We�ll embellish them ourselves, I think. Anyone know whether a cotton or cotton/poly bowling shirt is okay, or shall we search for something even more fake, more flowy? For now, I�ll go with the hot pink twin set; I think it�s a suitable substitute for Lulu, until we procure the real deal.

But other than this, I�m, uh, saving my money. I sure am.