flashingreds...
i'm world class
(2003-01-24, 4:43 p.m.)
Now I remember why it is I make up a dozen excuses when the vampires call asking for my blood�it�s a very painful thing. My veins are visible and promising, but they prove themselves quite wily. Without fail I end up with several people hovering over me, wondering why it�s not working, jerking the needle around in my arm, letting my arm �rest,� then trying again. It�s nice when the room erupts in cheers when my pint is finally complete, but next time can I please just get credit for wanting to give blood without the agony?

Agony on all sides. I did not appreciate the conversation about new upscale condos with 2500 square feet of space and 9 TVs; nor the unbidden explanation of how we can afford such massive construction projects, but not salary increases for people like me; the commentary on local people of importance (richies) who give blood; the equation of a new Lexus with a coworker�s home; nor the game of spotting and other Lexus on the road during the return drive. It just seems obvious that if you look at someone who�s wearing her dad�s 30-something-year-old wool coat, drives a filthy economy car and seems to be inwardly stewing about how the blood bank doesn�t pony up $20 for her blood, you�d think better of flaunting your extensive worldly goods and questionable values.

So I took my indignation and my thin blood to the bar, where I was welcomed warmly and by name, met up with a coworker, drank two baby beers, promised to return tonight, then made my merry way to the mall for hair supplies. (Heh. Hair supplies.)

When I got home, Fuzzy/Pants had left a turd in the doorway for me. I think it was a not-so-subtle request for me to actually attempt to come home before bedtime at some point this week. Now I�m going away for the weekend (baby shower weekend) and leaving him alone (though the neighbors will check in on him), and I fear the worst. Poor little catman. Maybe he does need a kitten. I�m unreliable company.

Running through my head today��What a Man� by Linda Lyndell, �I Can�t Stand the Rain� by Ann Peebles, �Can�t Stop a Train� by the Derailers, �Break My Heart� by the Judybats and �Orphan Girl� by Emmylou Harris. On repeat, all day.

So this week I got my ticket to see Sleater-Kinney next month, and I�m gonna see Jimmie Dale Gilmore Monday evening. Perhaps after seeing Kate around the noontide on Monday, as she�ll be in from Providence for a long weekend with her fam.

Now we�re just biding our time until we can make our exit. I�m moderately hungry, wondering whether I should heat up the other half of the veggie chili from lunch.

Everyone�s been really nice to me today. Why, when I went out at lunchtime to the salon and to the deli to pick up the chili, I would go as far as saying people were super-nice. I actually came away from the deli line thinking that the darling kid in the Cirque du Soleil shirt was imploring, or even commanding, me to have a great afternoon.

Right back at you, kiddo. I feel a martini night moving in.