flashingreds...
rights and excuses
(2003-01-22, 4:28 p.m.)
No, I didn�t go to the demonstration today. I�m disappointed. Several of us decided we�d go, but with wind chills still below zero, we decided to give in. Maybe if we hadn�t been in our professional attire, maybe if I didn�t have this weird crackling noise in my one good ear that made me suspect some sort of impending infection, maybe if I had all the time in the world for lunch. We felt quite glum about the decision, but there it was.

All the way in to work this morning I stewed about the event, though. My biggest fear was that a television crew would corner me. You know they only put the idiots on the evening news. So I thought long and hard about what I would say when asked why I was there. The tv me would start by saying that she�s mortified by the decisions our current administration is making regarding reproductive rights. She would be upset at the cut in funding for nonprofit places like Planned Parenthood. She would implore the public to understand that abortions are but a small part of what they do. She would point out the importance of affordable, subsidized annual exams for women with little to no health care coverage. She would talk about the importance of teaching safe sex, of preventing potentially life-threatening disease. She would advocate the frank and detailed discussion of all options, in the event that it was necessary. She must object to the use of public funding to support faith-based charities that refuse to provide full information, including discussions of safe sex. Why, why, why is this an issue? Why a political issue? How can anyone see fit to impose his/her judgments on what boils down to essential health care? So now those news folk are thanking their lucky stars I sat in my semi-warm vault of an office, instead of standing up for the cause.

Oh, I am off my rocker today about any number of topics. I found myself lecturing to the choir about a vaguely work-related topic at lunch and apologized profusely. I should not be allowed to have naught but a peanut butter cookie for breakfast, but I couldn�t be bothered to slow down for anything else.

So yeah. Off to McGruder. It's indoors, but it'll be a long cold walk to get there.

But first, I must say I read a lovely d-land entry today. I think she�ll know who she is. Rock on.