flashingreds...
gratzi
(2002-12-20, 4:21 p.m.)
Bugger. I don�t know Italian. Do you know Italian? I think I translated December, letter, editor, autumn and attention. Put it together, and that�s not nearly enough. It�s written on an honest-to-god typewriter, though, and I think he�s given me a fancy title. Maybe we should continue to exchange letters in our own languages. Maybe what�s said doesn�t really matter, but what matters are the nice paper, the typewriter, and the correction fluid. This letter seems much more real and honest than my computer-generated missive.

I shall reply posthaste.

(I adore the simple fact of including the location just before the date. So charming.)

Not Chicago, 20 December 2002

Gentle Sir,

I am most pleased to be in receipt of your letter of 10 December 2002. Your letter reached me in a pre-holiday funk, but from the moment I felt the typewriter impressions on the thick paper inside that creamy envelope, my spirits lifted.

You sent it postaprioritaria, which means so much. The urgency of your request was not lost on me. I hasten to reply.

I trust you were not huffing Wite-Out when you composed your letter. I trust you were sincere in what I believe was your effusive praise, which I return twofold.

I do think the subject of our letters is best worked out in person. We cannot go on like this forever. I have always wanted to visit Rome, so that I may have the satisfaction of hereafter telling my father that I have actually done as the Romans do.

If you agree, please send round-trip tickets to me, postaprioritaria.

With fondest regards,

Dr. flashingreds

----

One hour. I shall be released. 9 consecutive days off for the price of 2 1/2 vacation days. A deal like that doesn�t come around every day, my friends. Jump on it.

Happy hour is nigh. Cheers to you.

(Oh, and if you have a tried-and-true recipe for eggnog, please pass along. You�ve been so helpful in the past. Now please hurry over and get wrap up my pile of presents, while you�re at it. There�s beer in the fridge for you.)