flashingreds...
back in black
(2002-12-20, 1:13 p.m.)
Sorry to anyone who tried to tune in last night and couldn�t get in. The �technical difficulties� are past. We�re marching merrily along.

----

The soundtrack of the past few minutes of my life:

1. �The Woman Downstairs� � Handsome Family

2. �Personal Jesus� � Johnny Cash

3. �Happy Xmas (War is Over)� � John Lennon

4. �The Golden Age� � Beck

----

My copy of Songbook just arrived, as we continue on with the one-present-for-someone-else-and-two-presents-for-me philosophy of the holiday season. It�s all Dad�s fault. When I told him about the antique canister set I wanted, he told me to get it. He gave two reasons: it�s up to me to make myself happy and it�s Christmas, and I deserve to get things I like. Maybe it was a weak moment. Maybe we were both wiped out from helping the old people. Nonetheless, I�ve taken it to heart. But that�s it. I feel better, so I�ll stop now.

----

I meant to mention this the other day when I prattled on about SNL�more Fred Armisen. He�s suddenly everywhere. I spent New Year�s Eve with him (in a manner of speaking�recall that he opened for Robbie Fulks at Martyr�s) last year, he was in I Am Trying to Break Your Heart, and now he�s joined the cast of SNL. Okay, so he�s done many, many other things, and I should�ve known him, but I�m with it now. I�m hip to him, if you will.

I wrote his name down when the cast credits ran Saturday eve, but it was on the back of the Christmas card list, which was since been wadded into a tiny, angry ball. I note it here for posterity. And stuff. Not really for you.

----

I have procured a haircut. I feel fabulous. Forget that the intern didn�t get her come-uppance, because I am happy. And stollen. I procured that, too, for the betterment of my officemates.

I gave the hair designer her holiday tip, too, but I must confess that when filling out her card, it took all I had to not add a written apology for cheating on her. I wanted to tell her she was the only one for me and that I�d never stray to another shop again. And though she might find it reassuring in some way, given my usual formality and reserve, she might just be weirded out. Even after 2 years of me.

She can just stand in line to be weirded out. I�ve got plenty left.